All Topics / Legal & Accounting / CGT on property left to relatives in England

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of RosettaRosetta
    Participant
    @rosetta

Hello all, we have several investment properties acquired over 20 years. I thought I was a bit of an expert on matters relating to property. I actually owned my own real estate business up to a few years ago.Today my accountant answered a few queries and in one he stated that depreciation claimed on investment property is deducted from the cost base.Thereby increasing the CGT.

To be honest I was flabbergasted, I have read and studied most aspects of property investing and considering I was in the business I actually thought he was crazy.

Apparently this is correct. I checked on the ATO website, I understand how CGT is calculated. We have sold several older properties over the years and this has never arisen. I assume that our old accountant was not claiming depreciation. How could I have not known about this before depreciation on sale before?

Now I am very concerned as we have several children many still in the UK and my Australian daughter is the executor of our will. I was assuming that all the properties including our PPOR would be sold,I hope I am correct in assuming there will be no CGT on this house?

I have not been able to ascertain if the beneficiaries will have to pay death duty in the uk? Perhaps someone would be kind enough to answer this.

But the CGT bill will be staggering. Surely there must be some way round this. So many questions here, I apologise, but have just come across this forum tonight and it is a wealth of great information.

I actually feel very foolish not to have known this before

Thank you all in advance

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

It depends. Generally the main residence can be sold tax free up to 2 years after death. But not all main residences are CGT free – over 2 hectares, run a business from there etc.