All Topics / Help Needed! / First Investment need advice

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of janeashleyjaneashley
    @janeashley

Hi

I am looking at buying my first property which is going to be a future investment. As I am new to this I was looking for advice when tackling a few choices: As my first investment money is tight and I am looking at buying a unit. These are some decisions I need to make

Good suburb/location close to train line/beach/shops however outdated externally and internally.

Verses

Average suburb/close to shopping centers/approx 20kms inland from beach and modern interior and exterior.

I have been told that when purchasing a unit be sure to take into account the other units as their value will either increase or decrease yours. (Much like buying the worst house on the best street) Also the reputation of a suburb is extremely important to ensure the property's value will increase steadily. Is this all true?

Furthermore buying a newer unit comes with a higher confidence that there will be less or nil maintenance, however, the rental return will decrease as the area isn't as sort after.

So what is more important? Buying a newer unit in a average suburb opposed to an out dated one in a good suburb?

All input would be appreciated

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant
    @thefinanceshop
    janeashley wrote:
    Hi

Furthermore buying a newer unit comes with a higher confidence that there will be less or nil maintenance, however, the rental return will decrease as the area isn't as sort after. 

This is a huge assumption and one that generally comes back to back you. The thing with new development is that the strata starts at 'x' but as it is a new development the strata increases rapidly from the 12 month stage.

Regards

Shahin

TheFinanceShop | Elite Property Finance
    http://www.elitepropertyfinance.com
    Email Me | Phone Me

Residential and Commercial Brokerage