All Topics / Help Needed! / Need help-what to do?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of LConnorLConnor
    @lconnor

Hi,

My name is Connor, I am new to this site and have found it very helpful so far. Property investment / renovating has been an interest to me for many years. I always read API magazine, read property investment books and have done a number of courses over the years (the property school), to continue to further educate myself on property.   

I guess the main purpose for this interest, is to have money work for me and have my portfolio grow to create wealth to make life easier for now and for in the future. But I also love looking / searching for property and all aspects of building and renovating, if i could i would do it full time. 

I have a PPR (high set 3b, 2bath, pool – I was an owner builder) is on an acre of land 20min from Cairns QLD CBD. The property was recently valued between $680 – $690k, I owe the bank $520k on the mortgage.

I have also been recently left in a will $80k and a house on land in Port Pirie South Australia.  I expect the house in its current state would struggle to fetch $150k and the attaching half acre block would struggle to fetch between $70k-$100k (because of the over supply of vacant land in that area). The house and land are owned outright. The market in SA is flat, so i have been told by agents, because of the uncertainty of industry in the city (the smelters) and surrounding area (.Olympic Dam Project).

The house is a 3 bed, x 1 bath (brick) 1950s style house, in need of a renovation (big time).  The house is situated on 1 acre of land, which is sub divided into two half-acre lots.

I want to make the most out of what I have inherited to generate income to either 1) pay the remainder off my $520 mortgage  OR 2) allow me to purchase properties to increase my portfolio (either keep/hold/rent or renovate/sell).