All Topics / Help Needed! / First home buyer looking to turn into rental

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of xlrdeanxlrdean
    @xlrdean

Hi everybody

Ive been living in the house i built for around 2 and a half years now, and been working for my own business for around 9 years. I was told that I can rent out my house im in now and go rent with friends I can claim tax on my rental also I can claim on the rent i am paying at the new place because i will be setting up an office for my business in the house. What are all the processes involved with that? Its cheaper for me to move out and use the income from my property to help pay my mortgage. Im not ever planning to sell because i want to keep it as a investment property while i save up to by another one day down the track.
    I am really new to all this so any help would be really appreciated. Im living in WA so if any one could also give me contact details of a good financial advisor that would also help

kind regards

Dean

Profile photo of angelinsydneyangelinsydney
    Participant
    @angelinsydney

Hi all,

I brought this back up as Dan didn’t get a response. I don’t like to give an opinion re his query on taxation, though I know a bit about it, is not my cup of tea.

My only advice, Dean, is ask your business accountant. He should be able to clarify this.

Take care.

Angelina

Profile photo of Ryan McLeanRyan McLean
    Participant
    @ryan-mclean

Definitely ask your business accountant. But yes, in most cases you should be able to claim tax on the interest on your investment property…that is if you are earning less in rent than you are paying in outgoings.

I have heard that when it come to home offices you can only claim a portion of your rent. It depends on what percentage of room you use for business. I think they measure it per square footage. So if you have 40 square metres and you are using 10 square meters for work the you can claim 25% of your tax.