All Topics / Help Needed! / First time developer, need assist

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of rexhvnrexhvn
    @rexhvn

Hi everyone!

This is my first post here but have been researching for a while! Great forum!

I am planning to begin my first development in Melbourne consisting of 3 townhouses (depending on land size). Something small to get involved and experience before jumping deep.

I have been researching for the past 5 months… and now want to finally get involved, as this is my 2011 new years resolution!

I am pretty familiar with the majority of the process but want to cover myself just in case with all of your expertise and opinions.

1. Finance – during which stage of development to obtain, how is it given and percentage that is given.

To my understanding, a local or private lender will provide up to 70%-75& of land and up to 100% of construction (with profit margin 20%+ etc) – on what criteria do they accept or decline finance? And what stage of the development will they provide it and how? Eg: For contruction, you'll need plans from the architect and building quotes etc… but what about finance for just the land?  Any recommondation?

2. Costs to be missed – costs that developers could possibly miss or miscalculate.
       Such as – Interest on Finance
                  – Possibly unexpected construction costs etc

Are there any main costs that could be easily missed? This is to ensure analysis for feasibility as accurate as possible. In saying that, are their any good recommondation for good feasibility software?

Any advice, tips or anything would be much appreciated and am very thankful in advance.

Profile photo of Alistair PerryAlistair Perry
    Participant
    @aperry