All Topics / Help Needed! / what would you do in my situation?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of ayoungunayoungun
    Participant
    @ayoungun

Hi everyone

I know many of you are experienced property investors and as I am just starting out I am curious to know what you would do in my situation?

My situation
    My partner and I are 20 yrs old and very keen to build a large property portfolio (hopefully including our own house in 1-2 years from now). We want to be able to live very comfortably for the rest of our lives and we would like to eventually quit our jobs to become full time property investors/developers. Our income is only a joint $50,000 P/A and are not very stable. 

To get us started on the right track we have gone halves on an investment property with my parents (with them as guarantors)  We bought an old house on a large block which we have sub divided and we are going to build 2 new houses due for completion in June 08.  We have already lined someone up to buy one of the houses and we plan to hold the second house to rent out leaving us with a cash flow neutral property and about $100,000 in equity which will be our half of the profit.  

So what would your plan be with starting $100 equity in my situation?

Also as I am keen to continue with property investments sooner, once the contract is unconditional on the new house we are selling would a lender be prepared to lend us money for our next investment? Or would we need to wait until June when the house has sold and we receive full payment?

Appreciate any feedback 

Thanks    

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

You may need to take into account the Goods and services tax  when you sell developed houses and capital gains tax that you may be liable to pay.

Profile photo of HandyAndy888HandyAndy888
    @handyandy888