Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of luke__mooreluke__moore
    @luke__moore

Hi,

I’m new to the game and when searching for an area to look at closer I have been using research tools such as, RP Data, Residex, Homepriceguide, Commonwealth Bank Property Value Guide, Property value.com to name a few. The problem is, when comparing info there a discrepancies in the data. Which of these are more reliable? Or do you not use them?

Thanks
    Luke

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Hi Luke,

Thanks for your post. I am regularly asked to what extent I use research services, so I’m sure your question is a common one.

Personally, I think that research can be beneficial to gain a context for an area. In particular, to gain a snapshot of the demographics and to then compare it to recent trends.

For example, factors I do pay attention to include:

1. Population movements in that I look to invest in areas with increasing population as this adds to housing pressure (i.e. capital appreciation)

2. Rental vacancies / statistics… what I’m looking for is how much rental demand there is in the area. This data can be found from the REIA (for a fee) or by doing some on the ground research by going into real estate agent’s offices and looking at how many properties are currently for rent.

What I do not pay much attention to is what a potential property sold for several years ago as I see this as largely irrelevant. If you think you can make money then that’s the important issue, not what the previous purchaser bought it for in a different market.

The danger in all this is to avoid, at all costs, analysis-paralysis as this will only lead to confusion and difficulty in pulling the investment trigger.

I’d be interested to know what data do you look at and how you use the information you collect.

Have a great day.

Steve McKnight

Remember that success comes from doing things differently.