All Topics / Finance / Finance for unconventional situation

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of tmcintoshtmcintosh
    @tmcintosh

Hi everyone, hope someone can please give me some tips here. My wife and I are looking to get some finance for investment properties but our situation is a little complicated and we’re getting different stories from everyone we ask. Basically I’m an IT consultant, contracting my services through my limited company that I set up in England when I moved there in 1998. As soon as I set the company up I started contracting to a major shipping company in England and I am still on that same contract now, even though I’ve moved home permanently last year to Brisbane (the nature of my work is such that I can work remotely – they gave me a laptop and I dial up every night and work UK hours from home). For this I’m getting gross about $4,000 Aus a week. The contract won’t go on forever with them even though it’s been going for almost 7 years – it will probably end next year, but I have good official qualifications that will ensure I get another contract here with little problem, albeit probably for a bit less. My wife doesn’t work, she’s Canadian and we just got married 2 months ago so she actually can’t work until her papers have gone through (but we’d rather she didn’t anyway – we’re hoping for Baby to join us next year). Between my savings and the profit from her sale of her house in Canada we’ve got about $80,000 Aus in the bank here, but obviously we want to use as little of that as possible with my work situation being the way it is.