All Topics / The Treasure Chest / loans types – interest only or fixed?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of MsElvisMsElvis
    @mselvis

Hi,

As a newbie I have loads of questions and so here goes another one. My situation is I purchased my 1st home in September 2002. Paying off my loan I am left with a measly $280 per week to live on. (It’s not much as I have a child and no child support.)

I have been granted $100k from the bank and although I can find a property the rent return would only be about 6 – 7 % per year. This does not take into consideration the extras such as rates, vacancies or repairs that will be incurred. With the current interest rates I will just be able to service the loan, perhaps having to fork out $20 – $30 p/w from my own pocket.

This may be ok for the 1st investment property but if I was to purchase more I don’t know how I can fund it. I could service and interest only loan but I don’t know much about them.

What I want to find out is what are the advantages of an interest only loan and the disadvantages, how do they compare and who is eligible etc.

Also can anyone tell me would it be a good idea or not to go for a 5 fixed investment loan.

This is a long post and I thank you for your time

Cheers
    Ms Elvis

Profile photo of Stuart WemyssStuart Wemyss
    @stuart-wemyss

From Steve’s last newletter:

=====================================
    Which Loan Is Best For Me – Principal and Interest or Interest Only?
    An issue investors must continually re-examine is trying to decide the best way to set up their finances. For example, you need to think about:

What percentage loan-to-valuation ratio (LVR) do you seek?

Do you go for a principal and interest or interest only loan?

How long should your loan be? and

Do you ask for a variable or fixed interest rate?