All Topics / The Treasure Chest / New to Property

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of BelladonnaBelladonna
    Participant
    @belladonna

Hi All, I’m new to the discussion board & new to property in general so I seek your collective advice on ‘where to now’… here goes!

I’m a 22yo female, last February I purchased a 3brm townhouse in a suburb ~ 4km north of Brisbane for just under $150K. An identical unit in the complex just sold for ~$170K and land value in the area has gone up $5K in the (almost) 12 months since purchase. I’m currently living in it myself (as I used the $7K FHOG to cover my legals & stamp duty & have to live there for 12 mths minimum) with longer term plans to rent it out. I have ~ $15K sitting in a saving acct earning ~3% interest (woo hoo!!! LOL). I have no other loans or major expenses and am on a salary (before tax) of $45K. My partner pays me a nominal $100 p.w. rent to help me out, but I’m told that up to $220 p.w. is possible in this complex.

My questions are as follows:
    1) What can I do with the cash to earn some $$ without causing me major tax headaches & tying up the cash too much
    2) My fixed interest period runs out soon – is now the time to lock it in to another fixed period or should I let it convert to variable?
    3) What tax breaks should I be angling at when I rent it out? How does negative gearing work?

Ideally I really want to be able to afford to purchase a second property within the next 2 years as a principle home and rent out the unit… how can I do this effectively?

The long term goal is to set myself up for retirement but at the moment I have not paid much attention to my super… should I? I’ve heard it is better to invest elsewhere & just let your employer contributions mount up?

Thanks to anyone who replies…
    Bella

Profile photo of ADAD
    Participant
    @ad

Hey Bella,
    Welcome to the forum.

Wow. What a lot of questions. Where to begin.